Book Review: Ender’s Game

When the news came out about Ender’s Game making it to the big screen, this was not big news for me. In fact, it’s wasn’t news at all. This was not the case for my husband, who immediately started publishing things on this site related to the casting and other news surrounding the book turned movie. I’m actually kind of surprised that this one slipped my radar, but I really haven’t heard of it until this year. So I decided I would catch up before the movie debuts next year.

I have a rules with books that find their way to the big screen. I do always read them before I see the movie. If I see the movie first then I don’t ever read the book (with Jurassic Park being the only exception). And I no longer reread them just before the movie premieres. In fact, I like a good 6 month+ buffer between reading the book and seeing the movie. This allows for me to have a great experience for both. I get to really enjoy the book, I’m allowed time to forget most of the small details, and then I can appreciate the movie as a different and completely separate experience.

This book fit nicely into that time line of rules.

Ender’s Game (1985) is a science fiction novel by American author Orson Scott Card. Set in Earth’s future, the novel presents an imperiled humankind who have barely survived two conflicts with the Formics (an insectoid alien species normally called “Buggers” by most of the population). These aliens show an ant-like group behavior, and are very protective of their leader, much like Earth ants protecting their queen. In preparation for an anticipated third invasion, an international fleet maintains a school to find and train future fleet commanders. The world’s most talented children, including the novel’s protagonist, Ender Wiggin, are taken at a very young age to a training center known as the Battle School. (via)

I really liked the book and I can’t wait to see what is done with it on the big screen. I would recommend that my kids read it, but all kids are different. It is pretty violent. I wouldn’t say it was as violent as The Hunger Games, but it’s graphic. My oldest daughter who is 8, might be ready for it when she’s closer to 11. My son who is 4 might be ready when he’s 8. I’ll just have to wait and see. Regardless of my kids current ages, YOU (who are most likely an adult) should go ahead and read it now. You’ve got plenty of time to get it in before next year. I took a few days in between, but I spent a good three days (of constant interruption) reading it with no problem.

Rating: A-

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I remember reading it in seventh or eighth grade. As for violence, the freeze suit game was the focus for us. We actually designed a dice game with graph paper around it. The rest of the violence, with the exception of the bully Ender made an example of, was no worse than Indiana Jones or whatever I was watching at the time. The ball is in the directors court.

Leave a Reply

