The Walking Dead “Nebraska” Review

(First published for the site simplytv.blogspot.com)

Well The Walking Dead is back from its hiatus and it picks up just at the moment it left us several weeks ago.
Trouble is, people. This episode stunk like the disembodied rotting zombie arm that fell off the stinking pile of dead barn zombies.

Don’t hold back, you say? I embody all of the perfect frustration of Daryl. I have been injured on my adventure with trying to locate Sophia and now you’re asking me commit to an episode where we ONCE AGAIN have to chase down another character to bring them back to the group? We just did this! Fine. Just fine. Let’s go after Hershel this time. You know, cause Beth went into shock. Though fever spells infection of some kind, not shock, but I’m no doctor (or vet). Once again we must chase a character (Hershel) into peril (zombie ridden town) because he or she (he) is having some sort of hissy fit (pity party in the local bar). Lucky for Rick, this will be a character development experience for him as he will open fire on two (not-zombie) strangers that refuse to leave their group alone. And really if Rick had ever seen True Blood he would know that he had been correct in his decision making process. But if there was any doubt as to who the leader was (and really all the doubt laid solely with Rick) then we now know that Rick is the man in charge.

And back at the farm? They hold their very own zombie bon fire after respectfully burying their three favorites of the group. And by they, I mean our original group. No one from the farm except Jimmy who’s really just available for grunt work participates. I find this completely out of character for the farm group. They loved their family and friends so much that they kept them in the barn once they had turned in hopes of a cure, and once they are dead for sure, the farmies are no where to be found, not until funeral time.  I would think someone would have been insistent on complete burials for all.

It is worth mentioning also that Lori managed to get herself into a bit of a car wreck while mapping and driving. Keep your eyes on the road, kids. It seems a predictable twist that I WOULD LOVE to have work out differently than I believe it will, but she will probably either miscarry and be relieved or not miscarry and be relieved because she sees new hope (which I really don’t see happening).

This episode really would have done much better for me a week after the one preceding it. But it’s fed out as a premiere of sorts and it’s too weak to manage that. Half way through the episode (or probably about the time that the search party went out for Hershel) my brain started to ache for plot advancement, just like it did when we were searching for Sophia. I may not need plot advancement so much as I need a change of scenery. The Zombie genre goes hand in hand with an ongoing search for a new society or a cure or something in a linear means of travel. For now, season two just seems to be circling a drain never getting anywhere.

Am I still entertained? Oh yeah. Will I change my mind next episode and go back to my zombie-loving ways? Totally possible.The Walking Dead airs Sundays on AMC.

Posted on February 14, 2012, in TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

