Preview: A&E’s Bag of Bones

(First published for the site simplytv.blogspot.com)

Please stick with me on this one.

I didn’t like it.

But stay with me, because there’s a good chance you will. I have talked with another reviewer friend who got the advance screener and she liked it. So you’ve got a 50/50 chance as far as I’m concerned.

I haven’t read the book. I’m not sure how that would effect my thinking on the mini series. But if you have read the book then please watch the show and I might do something like bake you cookies if you would like to sit and talk about the differences in the text and the mini series with me. I’m for real. I’ll probably bake you cookies. They might be pre made refrigerator cookies, but I’ll bake them just for you.

So let me break it down as best as I can.

What I liked about the episode? I really enjoyed the first two hour start. I liked the premise of the show. Here’s the synopsis from the press release:

In “Bag of Bones,” bestselling novelist Mike Noonan (Brosnan) is unable to stop grieving after the sudden death of his wife Jo (Gish). Suffering from writer’s block, a dream inspires him to return to the couple’s lakeside retreat in western Maine. While there, Mike befriends an attractive young widow, Mattie (George), and her daughter Kyra (Carmichael), and becomes involved in a custody battle with the child’s enormously wealthy grandfather, Max (Schallert). Though his ability to write suddenly returns, Mike is plagued by ever-escalating nightmares and mysterious ghostly visitations from Sara Tidwell (Rose), a blues singer whose spirit lingers in the house. As he is haunted by the many secrets at the lake, Mike comes to realize that his late wife still has something to tell him.

Ghosts and messages from the afterlife are hugely scary to me. And I caught myself holding my breath once or twice during this first episode. There is one character in particular who really shines in the second episode. This person might be kin to a certain creep-a-zoid from the movie Lost Highway, just saying.

Alright, Jess, so what’s your beef? I have two major problems with the series. One is a problem of consistency and editing. I’m not one to pick up on things like this, but if something falls, or if someone gets something on their shirt, I expect it to stay there into the next shot. I wouldn’t have really bothered my if it had been once, maybe even twice but it was much more than that.

Secondly I had issue with what I can only deem to be gag reuse. I like Stephen King and I like The Shining and The Stand and The Dark Half and Carrie, etc. I feel like the things that were terrible in those works worked great for those works and I was disappointed to see one or two of those things reused for this series. Let me reiterate again that I haven’t read the book, so I don’t know if my issue is with the book or with the series, but I did an eye roll for a gag that I have found was better used in King’s works previous.

The bottom line is that I hope you do go watch the series. It’s a two night event starting Sunday and concluding Monday on A&E. It’s not a huge investment and it is entertaining. If you did like it and you have beef with my beef then I’d love to chat about it here or on the Twitter.

Posted on December 11, 2011, in TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

