Preview: Neverland

There isn’t much that I will stop everything for and watch, but anything related to Peter Pan instantly has my attention. I loved the Disney movie when I was a child. I went to the plays when I got older and then as a teenager I finally read the book and loved it. Then litter these intervening years with Hook and Finding Neverland and I had really felt like the story had been told in the most amazing way.
But there are people in this world much more creative than me, people who wanted to give life to the story before Wendy arrived. How did all of the characters get to Neverland? And who of these are Native Neverlanders, even?
The cast they gathered for this two night miniseries is amazing, and all of them do a real knockout job. The cast includes Rhys Ifans (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One), Anna Friel (Pushing Daisies), Charles Dance (Game of Thrones), Charlie Rowe (Pirate Radio), Bob Hoskins (Hook), and the voice of Keira Knightly (Pirates of the Caribbean). In addition to the cast, the show itself is a visual feast. Some of it was shot in beautiful Ireland and some of it was clearly green screen. For me this was only partially distracting. Peter Pan is just the very definition of magic for me, and they worked a lot of magic on to those green screens.

I’ll be honest, there are mixed reviews out there. I am on the side of love for this one. I did love it and can’t wait to watch it again. I will also admit that I did desperately want to share it with my kids, but there were one or two scenes of a romantic nature that I thought too mature for my 8 year old. That’s my 8 year old. It would have made me a little uncomfortable to watch it with her. But I will buy it on DVD when it’s released to keep in our family library.

This gets a resounding DO NOT MISS NO MATTER WHO YOU ARE (other than my 8 year old, but mommy will buy it for you to watch, just be patient). Neverland starts Sunday night on Syfy at 9/8c. Monday night’s episode wraps the event .

Posted on December 3, 2011, in Movies, TV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

