Preview: Grimm

This new show on NBC was hyped up to me and I was excited about watching it.

The show stars David Guintoll (Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice) as cop Nick Burkhardt. Russell Hornsby (Lincoln Heights) plays his partner Hank Griffin. Bitsie Tulloch (Quarterlife) is his girlfriend Juliette Silverton. Reggie Lee (No Ordinary Family, Tropic Thunder) is Sargent Wu and Sasha Roiz (Caprica) is Captain Renard. My favorite of the characters might be Monroe, played by Silas Weir Mitchell (My Name is Earl, Prison Break).

When I thought about what this show would be like, I expected Grimm fairytales played out in the style of a CSI show.

This is not that. Not really.

The crimes are heinous, but the investigations are not as dark and serious as I had expected them to be. Also the “Grimm” is referring to the supernatural behind the crimes. When the show begins, Nick starts to see things in a way that he’s never seen them before. This makes him a Grimm, and this is a hereditary thing. These things he sees could possibly be a tool in his investigations, or it could lead him down the wrong path (I couldn’t resist).

Also we have a mysterious relative who has information about his past that we need to sort out.

To be honest, the first half of the episode didn’t live up to my expectations, and I put it away for a while. I gave it another shot, and after the introduction of Monroe, I was hooked. I hope he is a recurring character. There is plenty of mystery left in the final minutes of the episode to leave me wanting more. I’m excited about the next episode. I hope it’s a knockout.

It’s a fun little show, creative and worth watching. Grimm is on Friday, October 21 at 9/8c on NBC.

Posted on October 19, 2011, in TV and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

